skip to content

Hausdorff Medal presented at INI

Ronald B. Jensen (Berlin) and John R. Steel (Berkeley) were awarded the Hausdorff Medal of the European Set Theory Society for the most influential work in set theory in the last five years during the 5th European Set Theory Conference at the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences in Cambridge on 26 August 2015. They were awarded for their construction of the core model without the use of a measurable cardinal.

The Hausdorff Medal was awarded for the first time in 2013 and is awarded every two years at the European Set Theory Conference. In 2015, the conference is hosted by a four-month research programme on set theory at the Isaac Newton Institute entitled "Mathematical, Foundational and Computational Aspects of the Higher Infinite".

The medal was presented by the President of the European Set Theory Society, Istvan Juhasz (Budapest).

Photo by Hugo Nobrega (John Steel, left; Istvan Juhasz, centre; Ronald Jensen, right).

University of Cambridge Research Councils UK
    Clay Mathematics Institute London Mathematical Society NM Rothschild and Sons