skip to content

The 5th European Set Theory Conference


we have been made aware of a very convincing phone scam that is focusing on our workshop participants. Participants may be contacted by phone by a firm called Business Travel Management to arrange accommodation for workshops and/or programmes.  This includes a request to enter credit card information.

Please note, INI will never contact you over the phone requesting card details. We take all payments via the University of Cambridge Online store

If you have been contacted by this company please contact us as soon as possible.

24th August 2015 to 28th August 2015

Workshop Theme

The 5th European Set Theory Conference (5ESTC) is the fifth meeting in a series of biannual meetings coordinated by the European Set Theory Society. Earlier meetings were held in Bedlewo (1ESTC, July 2007 and 2ESTC, July 2009), Edinburgh (3ESTC, July 2011) and Mon St. Benet (4ESTC, July 2013).

As part of 5ESTC, we are celebrating the 70th birthday of Adrian Mathias during the Mathias Day (Thursday). The programme consists of a tutorial, the Mathias Day, plenary lectures, invited (parallel lectures) and contributed talks.

The programme committee consists of Joan Bagaria (chair), Mirna Dzamonja, Benedikt Löwe, Ralf Schindler, and Philip Welch.

Hausdorff Medal lecture:

Talk delivered by the winner of the Hausdorff Medal. The Hausdorff Medal is awarded by the European Set Theory Society to the most influential published work in set theory in the last five years. The winner of the Hausdorff Medal 2015 will be announced during the Conference. This will be the second time the Hausdorff medal is awarded. The first Medal was awarded in 2013 to W. Hugh Woodin (UC Berkeley).


Dima Sinapova (Chicago IL)

Mathias Day speakers:

James Cummings (Pittsburgh PA)
Christian Delhomme (La Reunion)
Lorenz Halbeisen (Zürich)
Akihiro Kanamori (Boston MA)

Invited speakers:

Carlos Di Prisco (Caracas)
Natasha Dobrinen (Denver CO)
Gunter Fuchs (New York NY)
Victoria Gitman (New York NY)
Martin Goldstern (Vienna)
Peter Holy (Bristol)
Peter Koellner (Cambridge, MA)
Peter Koepke (Bonn)
Miguel Angel Mota (Toronto ON)
Philipp Schlicht (Bonn)
Asger Törnquist (Copenhagen)
Lyubomyr Zdomskyy (Vienna)
Yizeng Zhu (Münster)

Deadline for registrations: 25 May 2015

Apply now



Registration Only
  • Registration Package: £95
  • Student Registration Package: £50

The Registration Package includes admission to all seminars, refreshments on the days that lectures take place (Monday - Friday) and wine reception, but does not include meals or accommodation.

Registration and Accommodation
  • Accommodation Package: £372

The Accommodation Package includes a registration fee, bed and breakfast accommodation from the evening of Sunday 23 August 2015 to breakfast on Saturday 29 August 2015, together with refreshments during the days that lectures take place (Monday - Friday).

Formal Dinner Only
  • Formal Dinner: £50

Organisers and invited speakers are automatically included in this event. For all remaining participants who would like to attend, such as Visiting Fellows, programme participants, workshop participants or their guests, the above charge will apply.


Accommodation in single study bedrooms with shared facilities and breakfast are provided at Wolfson Court, adjacent to the Institute.

Participants who wish to source their own accommodation, may wish to do this via Hotels Combined website.


Lunch and Evening Meal

Lunches and evening meals are not included in the fees and participants are therefore free make their own arrangements.

Formal Dinner

The Formal Dinner will take place on Friday 28 August at Corpus Christi. Details on how to attend will be advised at a later stage.

University of Cambridge Research Councils UK
    Clay Mathematics Institute London Mathematical Society NM Rothschild and Sons