skip to content

A NATO Advanced Study Institute: New developments in Singularity Theory

31st July 2000 to 11th August 2000

Original URL:

Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences

Singularity Theory

July to December 2000

Organisers: VI Arnold (Moscow and Parix IX), JW Bruce (Liverpool), V Goryunov (Liverpool), D Siersma (Utrecht)

A NATO Advanced Study Institute/EC Summer School


31 July - 11 August 2000

ProgrammeIntroduction and Background
ParticipantsAbstracts of Lectures

Organisers: D Siersma - Director (Utrecht); VM Zakalyukin - Co-Director (Moscow State Aviation Institute); JP Brasselet (CNRS-Mathematical Institute Luminy); V Vassiliev (Russian Academy of Science); CTC Wall (Liverpool)

Objective: To study developments in singularity theory, especially during the last 5 years. Particular attention will be paid to the local and global theory of complex varieties and the singularities of holomorphic maps and real singularity theory. Also the study of discriminant spaces is part of the ASI.

Speakers (already confirmed): Y Baryshnikov (Eindhoven); JP Brasselet (CNRS); JW Bruce (Liverpool); J Damon (Chapel Hill); J Denef (Leuven); T Gaffney (Boston); G-M Greuel (Kaiserslautern); V Guryunov (Liverpool); I Luengo (Madrid); A Parusinski (Angers); D Siersma (Utrecht); J Steenbrink (Nijmegen); V Vassiliev (Steklov); CTC Wall (Liverpool); V Zakalyukin (Moscow).

Location and Costs: The conference will take place at the Newton Institute and accommodation for participants will be provided at Wolfson Court, adjacent to the Institute. The conference package costs £585, which includes registration fee, accommodation, breakfast and dinner, from dinner on Sunday 30 July until breakfast on Saturday 12 August, and lunches and refreshments on the days that lectures take place. Limited financial support will be available to researchers from NATO and Partner countries and to young researchers from EC Member States and Associated States. The conference will be restricted to about 80 participants.

NATO Countries: Belgium; Canada; Czech Republic; Denmark; France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Iceland; Italy; Luxembourg; Netherlands; Norway; Poland; Portugal; Spain; Turkey; United Kingdom; United States. Partner Countries: Albania; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Belarus; Bulgaria; Estonia; Georgia; Kazakhstan; Kyrghyz Republic; Latvia; Lithuania; Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Tajikstan; the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*; Turkmenistan; Ukraine; Uzbekistan.
* Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.

EC Member States: Austria; Belgium; Denmark; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Ireland; Italy; Luxembourg; The Netherlands; Portugal; Spain; Sweden; United Kingdom.
Associated States
: Bulgaria; Czech Republic; Republic of Cyprus; Estonia; Hungary; Iceland; Israel; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Norway; Poland; Romania; Slovakia and Slovenia.

University of Cambridge Research Councils UK
    Clay Mathematics Institute London Mathematical Society NM Rothschild and Sons