Sir Isaac Newton

Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences

Nobel Laureates in Physics

Philip Warren Anderson Gerard 't Hooft David J Gross

The Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded annually by a committee of five members elected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to one or more individuals, who have made an outstanding contribution in physics. Since the Institute opened, eight winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics have attended our programmes.

Name Year of
Programme / Event
Philip Warren Anderson 2008 Mathematics and Physics of Anderson Localization: 50 Years After
Pierre-Gilles de Gennes 1996 Dynamics of Complex Fluids
Murray Gell-Mann 1994 Geometry and Gravity
David J Gross 2007
Strong Fields, Integrability and Strings
Serge Haroche 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Brian David Josephson 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Anthony James Leggett 1994 Topological Defects
Gerard 't Hooft 2009
Discrete Integrable Systems
Quantum Information Science
Geometry and Gravity

Home | Institute Overview