The Dynamics of Discs and Planets

17 August to 21 August 2009

Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge, UK

Organisers: J Blum (Braunschweig), CJ Clarke (Cambridge), L Hartmann (Michigan), A Morbidelli (Nice), RP Nelson (London), GI Ogilvie (Cambridge), JM Stone (Princeton), S Udry (Geneva), MC Wyatt (Cambridge)

in association with the Newton Institute programme Dynamics of Discs and Planets (12 August to 18 December 2009)

Sponsored by: Royal Astronomocal Society

Poster Session A | Poster Session B | Programme | Participants | Application | Accommodation and Costs | Group Photograph

Theme of conference:

The primary aim of this conference is to bring together leading researchers from the fields of protostellar disc evolution, extrasolar planets, and planetary system formation and evolution in order to assess the current state of these closely interrelated disciplines. Discussion will focus on prospects for future progress in understanding how planets form and evolve.

Royal Astronomocal Society

Specific themes that will be discussed include:

  • Protostellar disc observations: structure, evolution, lifetimes
  • Protoplanetary disc modelling: turbulence, radiative transfer, chemistry
  • Experimental and theoretical studies of dust coagulation
  • Planetesimal formation
  • Terrestrial and giant planet formation theory
  • Disc-planet interactions and migration
  • Late-stage evolution of planetary systems
  • Debris discs: observations and theory
  • Observations of extrasolar planets

Invited speakers:

  • Agnor, CB (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • Augereau, JC (Universitè Joseph Fourier Grenoble)
  • Benz, W (Universität Bern)
  • Boley, A (Universität Zürich)
  • Bouwman, J (Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg)
  • Calvet, N (University of Michigan)
  • Cho, J (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • Clarke, C (University of Cambridge)
  • Crida, A (University of Cambridge)
  • Dominik, C (Universiteit van Amsterdam)
  • Fischer, D (Yale University)
  • Ford, EB (University of Florida)
  • Fridlund, M (ESA/ESTeC)
  • Gammie, C (University of Illinois)
  • Genda, H (University of Tokyo)
  • Hartmann, L (University of Michigan)
  • Horne, K (University of St. Andrews)
  • Johansen, A (University of Leiden)
  • Kokubo, E (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  • Lesur, G (University of Cambridge)
  • Levison, HF (Southwest Research Institute)
  • Lubow, S (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  • Matsumura, S (Northwestern University)
  • McNeil, D (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • Meyer, M (ETH Zürich)
  • Moro-Martin, A (Princeton University)
  • Patience, J (University of Exeter)
  • Paardekooper, SJ (University of Cambridge)
  • Rieke, G (University of Arizona)
  • Sano, T (Osaka University)
  • Thommes, E (University of Guelph)
  • Wilner, D (Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • Wu, Y (University of Toronto)
  • Wurm, G (Universität Münster)
  • Wyatt, M (University of Cambridge)

Session chairs and discussion leaders:

  • Balbus, S (École Normale Supérieure)
  • Duncan, M (Queen's University, Canada)
  • Guillot, T (Observatoire de la Côte d' Azur)
  • Lagrange, AM (Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de l'Observatoire de Grenoble)
  • Mayer, L (ETH Zürich)
  • Papaloizou, J (University of Cambridge)

Information for Conference Participants | Local Information | Newton Institute Map | Dynamics of Discs and Planets | Workshops | Newton Institute Home Page