UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE
Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences

Global Problems in Mathematical Relativity

SEMINAR LIST
(for period 8 Aug to 23 Dec)

Tuesday 09 August
10:30-11:30  Berger, B (National Science Foundation)
Gowdy Cosmologies: Theorems and Simulations Working Together

Thursday 11 August
10:30-12:00  Reula, O, Sarbach, O (Cordoba/California Inst. of Technology)
The Bianchi system

Monday 15 August
15:30-17:00  Choptuik, M (British Columbia)
Numerical analysis and numerical relativity

Tuesday 16 August
10:30-11:30  Andersson, L (A.E.I.)
On the interaction of mathematical and numerical general relativity

Wednesday 17 August
10:30-12:00  Gundlach, C (Southampton)
Hyperbolicity of second order in space systems of evolution equations

Thursday 18 August
09:00-17:00

Friday 19 August
09:00-17:00

Monday 22 August
09:55-10:00
Introduction
10:00-11:00  Rees, M (Cambridge)
Current status of black hole observations
11:30-12:30  Rodnianski, I (Princeton)
Harmonic coordinates and the stability of Minkowski space-time
14:00-15:00  Choquet-Bruhat, Y (Paris)
Global properties of space-times with one Killing vector
15:30-16:30  Dafermos, M (Cambridge)
Cosmic censorship in spherical symmetry

Tuesday 23 August
10:00-11:00  Bizon, P (Cracow)
Singularity formation in non-linear wave equations
11:30-12:30  Klainerman, S (Princeton)
Radius of injectivity and curvature estimates
14:00-15:00  Lehner, L (Louisiana)
Numerical black hole simulations
15:30-16:30  Anderson, M (Stony Brook)
Conformal compactifications

Wednesday 24 August
10:00-11:00  Galloway, G (Miami)
Some mathematical aspects of dynamical horizons
11:30-12:30  Tao, T (UCLA)
Progress in nonlinear wave equations

Thursday 25 August
10:00-11:00  Wald, R (Chicago)
Quantum field theories in curved spacetimes, mathematical aspects
11:30-12:30  Schoen, R (Stanford)
Controlling global properties of solutions of the constraint equations
14:00-15:00  Isenberg, J (Oregon)
Initial data engineering
15:30-16:30  Ringstroem, H (KTH Stockholm)
Dynamical properties of cosmological models

Friday 26 August
10:00-11:00  Gibbons, G (Cambridge)
Black holes in higher dimensions
11:30-12:30  Lohkamp, J (Augsburg)
Positivity of energy
14:00-15:00  Rendall, A (AEI Golm)
Asymptotic expansions for cosmological solutions of the Einstein equations
15:30-16:30  Moncrief, V (Yale)
Curvature propagation in general relativity - exploiting the Yang-Mills analogy

Tuesday 30 August
15:30-16:30  Bray, H (Duke)
 Negative point mass singularities in general relativity

Wednesday 31 August
15:30-16:30  Louko, J (Nottingham)
 Geons with spin and charge

Thursday 01 September
14:00-15:00  Hawking, S (Cambridge)
Information loss in black holes
15:30-16:30  Horowitz, G (UCSB)
 A new endpoint for Hawking evaporation

Friday 02 September
10:00-11:00  Hafner, D (Bordeaux)
 On scattering theory for field equations in the Kerr metric
11:30-12:30  Galloway, G (Miami)
 On the topology of black holes in higher dimensions
14:00-15:00  Reall, H (California)
 Higher dimensional black holes
15:30-16:30  Dafermos, M (Cambridge)
 Decay of radiation in spacetimes with black holes

Monday 05 September
14:00-15:00  Gibbons, G (Cambridge)
 Self-similar gravitational collapse and gravitational instantons
15:30-16:30  Ishibashi, A (Chicago)
 On stability of higher dimensional static black holes

Tuesday 06 September
15:30-16:30  Nicolas, J-P (Bordeaux 1)
 Conformal scattering and the Goursat problem, main ideas and what perspectives for black hole space-times?

Wednesday 07 September
15:30-16:30  Simon, W (University of Salamanca)
 Stability of marginally trapped surfaces and local existence of dynamical and trapping horizons

Monday 12 September
16:00-17:00  Bizon, P (Jagellonian)
 Vacuum gravitational collapse in 4+1 dimensions

Tuesday 13 September
16:00-17:00  Ringstroem, H (AEI Golm)
 Dynamics of Bianchi space-times

Thursday 15 September
16:00-17:00  Heinzle, M (Max Planck Institute)
 Asymptotic expansions and nonlinear stability of power-law inflation models

Friday 16 September
09:00-10:00  Berger, B (National Science Foundation)
 Numerical studies of expanding $T2$-symmetric cosmologies
10:00-11:00  Lim, WC (Dalhousie)
 Dynamical systems approach to inhomogeneous cosmology
11:30-12:30  Uggla, C (Karlstad)
 What have we learned and what can we learn from spatially homogenous cosmology?
14:30-15:30  Andreasson, H (Chalmers)
 Cosmological solutions of the Einstein-Vlasov system
16:00-17:00  Andersson, L (A.E.I)
 Future asymptotics of cosmological spacetimes

Monday 19 September
16:00-17:00  Lee, H (Max-Planck-Institut )
 Accelerated expanding models with Vlasov matter

Tuesday 20 September
16:00-17:00  Tchapnda, B (Yaounde I)
 The surface-symmetric Einstein-Vlasov system with positive cosmological constant

Thursday 22 September
16.00-17:00  Calogero, S (Minho Portugal)
 Global classical solutions to the 3D Nordstrom-Vlasov system

Tuesday 27 September
16:00-17:00  Bourguignon, J-P (IHES)
 Killing spinors, from general relativity to supergravity

Wednesday 28 September
16:00-17:00  Herzlich, M (Montpellier)
 Eigenvalue extremality for the Dirac operator on the sphere

Thursday 29 September
16:00-17:00  Qing, J (UCSC)
 On the uniqueness of the foliation of spheres of constant mean curvature in asymptotically flat 3-manifolds

Friday 30 September
16:00-17:00  Anderson, MT (Stony Brook)
 Conserved quantities and rigidity for locally AdS spaces

Monday 03 October
10:00-11:00  Graham, CR (Washington)
 Dirichlet-to-Neumann map for Poincare-Einstein metrics
11:30-12:30  Singer, M (Edinburgh)
Toric Poincare-Einstein metrics
14:30-15:30  Albin, P (MIT)
 The Gauss-Bonnet theorem for Poincare-Einstein metrics
16:00-17:00  Skenderis, K (Amsterdam)
 Conserved charges and positivity of energy for asymptotically locally AdS spacetimes

Tuesday 04 October
16:00-17:00  Woolgar, E (Alberta)
 A gradient flow for the nonlinear sigma model at 1-loop: the physics of Perelman's entropy

Thursday 06 October
16:00-17:00  Biquard, O (Strasbourg)
Einstein metrics on product spaces

Friday 07 October
16:00-17:00  Hall, G (Aberdeen)
 Sectional curvature and general relativity

Monday 10 October
16:00-17:00  Goldman, W (Maryland)
 Complete Flat Lorentzian 3-Manifolds

Tuesday 11 October
16:00-17:00  Bartnik, R (Monash)
 Barriers and CMC hypersurfaces

Wednesday 12 October
10:00-11:00  Beguin, F (Paris-Sud)
AdS geometry and Mess' work
11:30-12:30  Benedetti, R (Pisa)
 Canonical Wick rotations in 3D gravity
14:30-15:30  Barbot, T (Lyon)
 A geometric insight into BTZ multi black-holes
16:00-17:00  Schlenker, J-M (Paul Sabatier)
 Minimal surfaces in singular constant curvature manifolds

Thursday 13 October
16:00-17:00  Zeghib, A (Lyon)
 On CMC foliations

Monday 17 October
16:00-17:00  Bartnik, R (Monash)
 Second variation in general relativity

Tuesday 18 October
16.00-17.00  Lewandowski, J (Warsaw)
 Mathematical introduction to loop quantum gravity

Wednesday 19 October
11:00-12:30  Fewster, CJ (York)
 Introduction to algebraic quantum field theory in curved spacetime
16:00-17:00  Ehrlich, P (Florida)
 Comparison theory in Lorentzian geometry

Thursday 20 October
16.00-17.00  Bojowald, M (Max-Planck-Institute)
 Loop quantum cosmology

Friday 21 October
11:00-12:30  Fewster, CJ (York)
 Energy conditions in quantum field theory
16:00-17:00  Nicolo, F (Rome Tor Vergata)
 A global solution for a characteristic problem for the Einstein vacuum equations with small initial data

Monday 24 October
11:00-12:30  Ashtekar, A
Discussions on recent developments in mathematical quantum gravity

Tuesday 25 October
15:30-16:30  Sahlmann, H (Utrecht)
 Uniqueness of the kinematical representation of loop quantum gravity

Wednesday 26 October
11:00-12:30  Ashtekar, A
Discussions on recent developments in mathematical quantum gravity

Thursday 27 October
16.00-17.00  Ashtekar, A (Pennsylvania State)
 Quantum geometry and space-time singularities

Friday 28 October
11:00-12:30  Moss, I, Jennings, D (Newcastle upon Tyne)
 Radiation-reaction on timelike surfaces in AdS

Tuesday 01 November
16:00-17:00  Louko, J (Nottingham)
 Constrained systems: Dirac and post-Dirac quantisation

Wednesday 02 November
11:00-12:30  Thiemann, T (Perimeter Institute)
The Hamiltonian constraint in loop quantum gravity

Thursday 03 November
16:00-17:00  Vickers, J (Southampton)
 Colombeau algebras in GR

Friday 04 November
11:00-12:30  Thiemann, T (Perimeter Institute)
The master constraint programme for loop quantum gravity

Monday 07 November
14:00-15:00  Ashtekar, A (Penn State)
Quantum riemannian geometry and its ramifications
15:00-16:00  Danzmann, K (Albert Einstein Institut and Hannover)
Gravitational wave astronomy: The large detectors are going into operation!
16:30-17:30  Penrose, R (Oxford)
Before the big bang? A new perspective on the Weyl curvature hypothesis

Tuesday 08 November
16:00-17:00  Barrett, J (Nottingham)
 Spin foam quantum gravity

Wednesday 09 November
11:00-12:30  Perez, A (Centre de Physique Théorique, Marseille)
 The representation ambiguity in loop quantum gravity

Thursday 10 November
16:00-17:00  Rovelli, C (Marseille)
 Definition of n-point function in nonperturbative quantum gravity and low energy limit of the loop-spin foam formalism

Friday 11 November
11:00-12:30  Rovelli, C (Marseille)
Discussions on n-point functions in non-perturbative quantum gravity

Monday 14 November
16:00-17:00  Valiente Kroon, J (London)
 Time asymmetric spacetimes near null and spatial infinity

Tuesday 15 November
16:00-17:00  Hollands, S (Gottingen)
 Asymptotically AdS-spacetimes

Wednesday 16 November
16:00-17:00  Blue, P (Toronto)
 Decay and the conformal energy of waves around the Schwarzschild black hole

Thursday 17 November
16:00-17:00  Ishibashi, A (Chicago)
 Asymptotic flatness at null infinity in higher dimensional gravity

Friday 18 November
16:00-17:00  Flores, JL (Malaga)
 A new development of the causal boundary of spacetimes

Monday 21 November
10:00-11:00  Mason, LJ (Oxford)
The twistor theory of the Ernst Equation
11:30-12:30  Alekseev, GA (Steklov Mathematical Institute)
 Integrable reductions of Einstein's field equations: monodromy transform and the linear integral equation methods
14:30-15:30  Meinel, R (Jena)
 Quasi-stationary routes to the Kerr black hole

Tuesday 22 November
11:30-12:30  Korotkin, D (Concordia)
 Isomonodromic tau-functions on Hurwitz spaces and their applications
14:30-15:30  Ward, RS (Durham)
Periodic instantons \& monopoles in gauge theory (and gravity)
16:00-17:00  Ferapontov, E (Loughborough)
 Hydrodynamic reductions of multi-dimensional dispersionless PDEs: the test for integrability

Wednesday 23 November
16:00-17:00  Dunajski, M (Cambridge)
Anti-self-dual conformal structures with null Killing vectors

Monday 28 November
16:00-17:00  Beig, R (Vienna)
 On the motion of a compact elastic body

Tuesday 29 November
14:30-15:30  Heinzle, JM (MPI, Golm)
 Static perfect fluid models - a dynamical systems approach
16:00-17:00  Petroff, D (Friedrich-Schiller-Universitaet Jena)
 The extreme distortion of black holes due to matter

Thursday 01 December
16:00-17:00  Winstanley, E (Sheffield)
 The abundant richness of Einstein-Yang-Mills

Friday 02 December
16:00-17:00  Friedrich, H (MPI, Golm)
 On the convergence of certain expansions at space-like infinity of asymptotically flat, static vacuum solutions

Tuesday 06 December
16:00-16:30  Chrusciel, P (Tours)
 The classification of static electrovacuum black holes
16:30-17:00  Isenberg, J (Oregon)
Spherically symmetric dynamical horizons

Thursday 08 December
16:00-17:00  Mars, M (Salamanca)
 Second order perturbations of rotating bodies in equilibrium; the exterior vacuum problem

Friday 09 December
11:00-12:00  Bartnik, R (Monash)
 QL Mass definitions with positivity proofs
16:00-17:00  Holst, M (UC San Diego)
 Nonlinear Approximation Techniques in General Relativity and Geometric Analysis

Monday 12 December
10:00-11:00  Bartnik, R (Monash)
 Hilbert structure on the ADM phase space
11:30-12:30  Huisken, G (Max Planck Institute for Gravitation)
Radial foliations of asymptotically flat 3-manifolds
14:30-15:30  Dain, S (Max Planck Institute )
 Spin-mass inequality for axisymmetric black holes
16:00-16:30  Delay, E (Universite d'Avignon)
 Nonsingular stationary metrics with a negative cosmological constant

Tuesday 13 December
10:00-11:00  Khuri, M (Stanford)
Global bounds and new existence theorems for the Yamabe problem
11:30-12:30  Bahri, A (Rutgers)
A variational approach to the Yamabe problem
14:30-15:30  Pacard, F (Paris 12)
 Singular solutions of the Yamabe equation
16:00-16:30  Pollack, D (Washington)
 Constructing solutions of the constraint equations with sources: the Einstein-Scalar field system

Wednesday 14 December
10:00-11:00  Brendle, S (Princeton)
 Global convergence of the Yamabe flow
11:30-12:30  Maxwell, D (Alaska Fairbanks)
 Rough initial data

Thursday 15 December
10:00-11:00  Pfeiffer, H (Caltech)
Numerical construction of the solutions of the constraint equations
11:30-12:30  Lindblom, L (Caltech)
Optimal constraint projection in general relativity
14:30-15:30  Alexakis, S (Princeton)
 Global conformal invariants and their applications
16:00-16:30  Corvino, J (Lafayette College)
 Some applications of scalar curvature deformation in general relativity

Friday 16 December
10:00-11:00  Galloway, GJ (Miami)
 Rigidity and positivity of mass for asymptotically hyperbolic manifolds
11:30-12:30  Miao, P (Santa Barbara)
On problems related to Bartnik's definition of quasi-local mass (sponsored by CQG)
14:30-15:00  Maerten, D (Montpellier II)
 Positive energy theorem for asymptotically hyperbolic manifolds
15:00-15:30  O'Murchadha, N (University College, Cork)
 Why we should not take the Liu-Yau quasi-local mass seriously

Other Seminars
Seminars in the University
National Symposia Activities in the Mathematical Sciences
[Top]
Webmaster
Copyright © 1996 Isaac Newton Institute.
Updated at 09:00 AM on 23 December 2005