Inertial-Range Dynamics and Mixing

29 September to 3 October 2008

Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge, UK

Organisers: Professor Peter Davidson (Cambridge), Professor Yukio Kaneda (Nagoya) and Professor Katepalli Sreenivasan (ICTP)

in association with the Newton Institute programme The Nature of High Reynolds Number Turbulence (26 August to 19 December 2008)

Programme | Participants | Application | Accommodation and Cost | Poster Presenters | Photograph

Theme of workshop:

Despite the long history of turbulence research, there still remain many fundamental unanswered questions. Many of these relate to Inertial-Range Dynamics and Mixing in turbulence. The proposed 5-day workshop will focus on the near-universal physics of such phenomena as observed in certain canonical turbulent flows at high Reynolds number. It will bring together researchers in the communities of theory, modelling, numerical simulations, laboratory experiments and field-observations, to discuss and exchange new ideas on various themes, including:

  • Intermittency, Scaling and Universality
  • Turbulent Diffusion (single- and two-particle) and Mixing
  • Lagrangian Dynamics and Statistics
  • Coarse Graining - Modelling
  • Reynolds Number and Scale Dependence
  • Anisotropy, Inhomogeneity and Nonstationarity
  • Superfluid Turbulence, MHD, 2-D Turbulence
  • Vortex Dynamics and Structure

Tentative list of speakers includes:

Roberto Benzi (Rome), Luca Biferale (Rome), Eberhard Bodenschatz (Goettingen), Claude Cambon (Lyon), Hudong Chen (Boston), Peter Davidson (Cambridge), Charles Doering (Ann Arbor), Andrzej Domaradzki (Los Angeles), Gregory Eyink (Baltimore), Gregory Falkovich (Rehovot), Marie Farge (Paris), Toshiyuki Gotoh (Nagoya), Takashi Ishihara (Nagoya), Javier Jimenez (Madrid), Robert Kerr (Warwick), Susan Kurien (Los Alamos), Anthony Leonard (Pasadena), Erik Lindborg (Stockholm), Detlef Lohse (Twente), Thomas Lundgren (Minneapolis), David McComb (Edinburgh), Sergey Nazarenko (Warwick), Martin Oberlack (Darmstadt), Rahul Pandit (Bangalore), Joachim Peinke (Oldenburg), Jean-François Pinton (Lyon), Annick Pouquet (Boulder), Alain Pumir (Nice), Brian Sawford (Clayton), Joerg Schumacher (Ilmenau), Katepalli Sreenivasan (Trieste), Federico Toschi (IAC-CNR), Makoto Tsubota (Osaka), Yoshiyuki Tsuji (Nagoya), Christos Vassilicos (London), Zellman Warhaft (Ithaca), Pui-Kuen Yeung (Atlanta) and David Youngs (Berkshire).

Information for Conference Participants | Local Information | Newton Institute Map | The Nature of High Reynolds Number Turbulence | Workshops | Newton Institute Home Page