Non-Abelian Fundamental Groups in Arithmetic Geometry: Introductory Workshop

27 July to 31 July 2009

Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Cambridge, UK

Organisers:John Coates (Cambridge), Minhyong Kim (UCL), Richard Taylor (Harvard), Andrew Wiles (Princeton)

in association with the Newton Institute programme Non-Abelian Fundamental Groups in Arithmetic Geometry (20 July to 18 December 2009)

Programme | Participants | Application | Accommodation and Costs

Theme of workshop:

This workshop aims to bring together a mixture of experts in anabelian geometry and non-commutative Iwasawa theory as well as other major areas of arithmetic geometry. On the one hand, we hope to provide an overall introduction to the themes of the six-month program. On the other, the presence of representatives from neighbouring areas is expected to focus attention on future possibilities for non-abelian constructions to be applied to a broad range of arithmetic investigations.

Invited speakers:

  • Alexander Beilinson (Chicago)
  • Fedor Bogomolov (NYU)
  • David Burns (KCL)
  • Mirela Ciperiani ((Columbia))
  • John Coates (Cambridge)
  • Pierre Colmez (Paris 6)
  • Pierre Deligne (IAS)
  • Matthew Emerton (Northwestern)
  • Richard Hain (Duke University)
  • David Harbater (UPenn)
  • Minhyong Kim(UCL)
  • Florian Pop (UPenn)
  • Mohamed Saidi((Exeter) )
  • Romyar Sharifi (Arizona)
  • R Taylor (Harvard)
  • Tamas Szamuely (Renyi Institute)
  • Kirsten Wickelgren (Stanford University)
  • Otmar Venjakob (Heidelberg)

Information for Conference Participants | Local Information | Newton Institute Map | Non-Abelian Fundamental Groups in Arithmetic Geometry | Workshops | Newton Institute Home Page