Nobel Laureates in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded annually by a committee of five members elected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to one or more individuals, who have made an outstanding contribution in physics. Since the Institute opened, 10 winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics have attended our programmes.

Name Year of Visit Programme / Event
Anderson, Philip Warren 2008 Mathematics and Physics of Anderson Localization: 50 Years After
de Gennes, Pierre-Gilles 1996 Dynamics of Complex Fluids
Gell-Mann, Murray 1994 Geometry and Gravity
Gross, David J 2007
Strong Fields, Integrability and Strings
Haldane, Duncan 2000 Strongly correlated electron systems
Haroche, Serge 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Josephson, Brian David 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Leggett, Anthony James 1994 Topological Defects
‘t Hooft, Gerard 2009
Discrete Integrable Systems
Quantum Information Science
Geometry and Gravity
Thouless, David 2000
Quantised vortex dynamics and superfluid turbulence
Mathematics and physics of Anderson localisation: 50 years after

Supported By