Nobel Laureates


The Nobel Prize is awarded annually by a committee of five members elected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences to one or more individuals, who have made an outstanding contribution towards science, literature, medicine or peace. Since the Institute opened, 12 winners of the Nobel Prize (primarily in Physics) have attended our programmes.

Name Year of Visit Programme / Event
Anderson, Philip Warren 2008 Mathematics and Physics of Anderson Localization: 50 Years After
de Gennes, Pierre-Gilles 1996 Dynamics of Complex Fluids
Engle, Robert 2014 Systemic risk: mathematical modelling and interdisciplinary approaches
Gell-Mann, Murray 1994 Geometry and Gravity
Gross, David J 2007
Strong Fields, Integrability and Strings
Haldane, Duncan 2000 Strongly correlated electron systems
Haroche, Serge 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Josephson, Brian David 1999 Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Leggett, Anthony James 1994 Topological Defects
Maskin, Eric 2015 Reasoning via Formal Models in Economics – Models as Parables (Newton Gateway)
Penrose, Roger 2021
The unity of mathematics
Quantum Information Science
Noncommutative Geometry
Global Problems in Mathematical Relativity
Quantum Information Science
Complexity, Computation and the Physics of Information
Geometry and Gravity
‘t Hooft, Gerard 2009
Discrete Integrable Systems
Quantum Information Science
Geometry and Gravity
Thouless, David 2000
Quantised vortex dynamics and superfluid turbulence
Mathematics and physics of Anderson localisation: 50 years after

Supported By