The UK mathematical community is supported by a myriad of official and unofficial networks, some of which exist only virtually. To help support and grow these groups, the INI initiative “Network Support for the Mathematical Sciences” was introduced in 2022. It provides modest funding packages of between £5,000 to £25,000 so that these networks can continue and intensify their work, and so that new networks can be formed. Both national and international networks are eligible to apply, and costs covered can include international travel by UK residents as well as travel by non-UK researchers to the UK.

Activities undertaken by INI-funded networks are independent of the research programmes hosted by INI throughout the year. However, their outputs are greatly facilitated by INI’s support.

Listed below are the networks that have received funding so far.

Recipients of “Network Support for Mathematical Sciences” funding

U

2023  
Network name
Lead coordinator(s)
Contact email
Algebraic Lie Theory in the UK Dr Adam Thomas adamthomas22@gmail.com
ARTIN: Algebra and Representation Theory in the North Dr David Jordan D.Jordan@ed.ac.uk
Categories Networking Project Dr Simona Paoli simona.paoli@abdn.ac.uk
Communicating mathematical science research to non-expert audiences (mathsci-comm) Dr Marianne Freiberger mf344@cam.ac.uk
Computational Algebraic Geometry Professor Diane Mclagen D.Maclagan@warwick.ac.uk
DANGER: Data, Numbers and Geometry Associate Professor Alexander Kasprzyk
EAGLE Professor Michael van Garrel mvangarrel@bham.ac.uk
FAMiLLY Dr Ehsan Azmoodel Ehsan.Azmoodeh@liverpool.ac.uk
Groups and Geometry in Southern England Dr Larsen Louder l.louder@ucl.ac.uk
intdualdef Dr Ben Hoare ben.hoare@durham.ac.uk
JUNIPER Consortium Professor Julia Gog jrg20@cam.ac.uk
KineticNet Dr Josephine Evans Josephine.Evans@warwick.ac.uk
Mathematics in Life Sciences (MILS) Professor Rachel Nicks rachel.nicks@nottingham.ac.uk
Mathematics of Mass Extinctions (Ma(th)ssX) Dr Ivan Sudakow ivan.sudakow@open.ac.uk
Mathematics of Sea Ice Dr Alberto Alberello A.Alberello@uea.ac.uk
MathPeat Associate Professor Matteo Icardi Matteo.Icardi@nottingham.ac.uk
NetPLACE Networks, PhD Life & ComplExity Miss Silvia Rognone s.rognone@qmul.ac.uk
Network on Mathematical Data Science for Material Sciences Dr Xiaocheng Shang x.shang.1@bham.ac.uk
New Directions in Mathematical Modelling of Ocean Wave Energy Dr Hamid Alemi Ardakani h.alemi-ardakani@exeter.ac.uk
North-East and Midlands Stochastic Analysis Seminar (NEMSA) Dr Chunrong Feng fengchunrong@gmail.com
Operator algebras in the South Dr Ulrich Penning PennigU@cardiff.ac.uk
OPSFOTA – Orthogonal Polynomials, Special Functions, Operator Theory and Applications Dr Ana Loureiro a.loureiro@kent.ac.uk
Preconditioning for Variational Data Assimilation Problems Dr Alison Ramage a.ramage@strath.ac.uk
Researchers in Probabilistic Numerical Methods Dr Jonathan Cockayne jon.cockayne@soton.ac.uk
Resources for Diversity in Mathematics Dr Isobel Falconer ijf3@st-andrews.ac.uk
Set Theory in the United Kingdom Professor Benedikt Loewe bloewe@science.uva.nl
The Grimm Network Dr Dan Rust dan.rust@open.ac.uk
UK Algebraic Geometry Network Dr Anne-Sophie Kaloghiros anne-sophie.kaloghiros@brunel.ac.uk
UK Mathematical Systems and Control Thery Network Dr Chris Guiver C.Guiver@napier.ac.uk
UK Prostate Cancer ICGC Analysis Group Professor Andy Lynch  andy.lynch@st-andrews.ac.uk
UK Research Network in Stochastics Dr Burak Buke bbuke@ed.ac.uk
UK Spectral Theory Network Dr Matteo Capoferri m.capoferri@hw.ac.uk
Using Solution Landscapes to Engineer New Soft Material Devices Professor Apala Majumdar apala.majumdar@strath.ac.uk
Virtual Eye Consortium Professor Peter Stewart Peter.Stewart@glasgow.ac.uk

Supported By