Background

At the suggestion of the then National Advisory Board, the Newton Institute established in 2002 a list of correspondents in UK Universities, other academic institutions and R&D groups in industry and commerce. These correspondents act as a channel of communication between the Newton Institute and the mathematical sciences community in the UK. Correspondents are regularly informed about activities of the Institute, and it is their responsibility to ensure that the information is disseminated to the relevant Departments in their institution (especially Departments other than mathematics). Correspondents also provide feedback to the Institute.

In January 2018, the Correspondents Network was branded jointly with ICMS, and became the INI-ICMS Correspondents Network.  This rebranded network launched with the INI-ICMS Correspondents Day meeting on 24 January 2018.

Universities and other relevant bodies not yet represented on this list are encouraged to suggest a suitable nominee.

What is the role of a Newton Institute Correspondent?

What the Institute promises to do:

  • Inform Correspondents of major new decisions or developments
  • Respond to queries, suggestions, comments and criticisms from Correspondents or others in their institution
  • Encourage programme organisers to arrange satellite workshops, with a contribution of £5K from the Institute
  • Maintain lists of potential travelling seminar speakers
  • Hold an annual meeting for Correspondents

What Correspondents are expected to do:

  • Act as a focus in their institution for communication between the Institute and the UK mathematical science community
  • Distribute the information provided by the Institute widely within their institution, especially to relevant departments other than mathematics
  • Ensure that members of their institution are aware of the various sources of information concerning Institute activities (e.g., web site, email lists, etc)
  • Encourage participation in Institute programmes, particularly by younger scientists, and act as a source of advice to members of their institution
  • Promote the Junior Membership scheme
  • Keep the Institute informed of any suggestions, comments or criticisms, and draw its attention to cases where there are (or appear to be) obstacles to participation in Institute programmes
  • Encourage colleagues in their institutions to consider hosting satellite workshops for appropriate Institute programmes
  • Ensure that local seminar organisers are aware of the lists maintained by the Institute

The Newton Institute maintains a register of participants who are willing to give seminars at other UK institutions. Newton Institute Correspondents may find this register useful when looking for a speaker with particular subject knowledge.

Annual Meeting of Correspondents

Previous meeting reports:

Chair of Correspondents

The principal role of Chair of Correspondents is to assist in the coordination of the activity of the Correspondents Network in linking the two Institutes with the UK mathematical sciences community.  The post-holder will serve a 3-year term, which is renewable.

The current (2019-) Chair of Correspondents is Professor Niall MacKay, Head of Department of Mathematics at the University of York.

Previous chairs have been :

  • Professor Ulrike Tillmann (Oxford), 2015 – 2018
  • Professor Michael Singer (UCL), 2013 – 2015
  • Professor Caroline Series FRS (Warwick), 2009 – 2012

List of current Correspondents

Correspondents in UK Universities

Listed Alphabetically by Institution:

Institution Correspondent Name Contact Email
Aberdeen, University of Dr A Sevastyanov a.sevastyanov@abdn.ac.uk
Aberystwyth University Dr R Douglas rsd@aber.ac.uk
Bath, University of Dr A Jarai A.Jarai@bath.ac.uk
Birkbeck College Prof. S Hart s.hart@bbk.ac.uk
Bradford, University of Prof. A Vourdas a.vourdas@bradford.ac.uk
Bristol, University of Prof. T Liverpoll maths-research@bristol.ac.uk
Brunel University Dr I Smolyarenko igor.smolyarenko@brunel.ac.uk
Cardiff University Dr U Pennig pennigu@cf.ac.uk
Central Lancashire, University of Dr C Powles cpowles@uclan.ac.uk
City University London Dr O Kerr o.s.kerr@city.ac.uk
Dundee, University of Dr I Kyza ikyza@maths.dundee.ac.uk
Durham, University of Dr O Hryniv ostap.hryniv@durham.ac.uk
East Anglia, University of Dr V Miemietz v.miemietz@uea.ac.uk
Edinburgh, University of Dr. A Karakhanyan aram6k@gmail.com
Essex, University of Prof. B Lausen blausen@essex.ac.uk
Exeter, University of Dr Julio Bueno de Andrade j.c.andrade@exeter.ac.uk
Exeter, University of Dr Hamid Alemi Ardakani h.alemi-ardakani@exeter.ac.uk
Glasgow, University of Dr A Bartel alex.bartel@gla.ac.uk
Greenwich, University of Dr T Reis t.reis@greenwich.ac.uk
Heriot-Watt University Prof. A Sisto a.sisto@hw.ac.uk
Hertfordshire, University of Dr C Young c.young8@herts.ac.uk
Huddersfield, University of Prof. W Lee w.lee@hud.ac.uk
Hull, University of Dr W Bentz w.bentz@hull.ac.uk
Imperial College London Prof. XM Li xue-mei.li@imperial.ac.uk
Keele University Prof V Shrira v.i.shrira@keele.ac.uk
Kent, University of Prof. P Clarkson p.a.clarkson@ukc.ac.uk
King’s College London Prof. N Shepherd-Barron nicholas.shepherd-barron@kcl.ac.uk
Lancaster, University of Dr A Turner a.g.turner@lancaster.ac.uk
Leeds, University of Dr JP Gosling j.p.gosling@leeds.ac.uk
Leicester, University of Dr F Neumann fn8@mcs.le.ac.uk
Limerick, University of Dr K Burke kevin.burke@ul.ie
Liverpool, University of Prof. V Goryunov victor.goryunov@liverpool.ac.uk
Liverpool John Moores University Dr G Czanner g.czanner@ljmu.ac.uk
London Metropolitan University Prof. E Kissin e.kissin@londonmet.ac.uk
London School of Economics Prof J van den Heuvel j.van-den-heuvel@lse.ac.uk
Loughborough University Prof. A Neishtadt a.neishtadt@lboro.ac.uk
Manchester, University of Dr H Suess hendrik.suess@manchester.ac.uk
Napier University Dr F Pomponi F.Pomponi@napier.ac.uk
Newcastle, University of Prof. R Henderson robin.henderson@newcastle.ac.uk
Nottingham, University of Prof. P Houston paul.houston@nottingham.ac.uk
Open University Dr S Barbina silvia.barbina@open.ac.uk
Oxford, University of Prof. R Baker baker@maths.ox.ac.uk
Plymouth, University of Dr C Christopher c.christopher@plymouth.ac.uk
Portsmouth, University of Dr A Burbanks andrew.burbanks@port.ac.uk
Queen Mary University of London Prof. P Skraba p.skraba@qmul.ac.uk
Queen’s University Belfast Prof. I Todorov i.todorov@qub.ac.uk
Reading, University of Dr H Boedihardjo h.s.boedihardjo@reading.ac.uk
Royal Holloway Dr M Widmer martin.widmer@rhul.ac.uk
St Andrews, University of Prof. D Dritschel dgd@mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk
Salford, University of Dr E Chadwick e.a.chadwick@salford.ac.uk
Sheffield, University of Dr K Mackenzie k.mackenzie@shef.ac.uk
Sheffield Hallam University Dr E Lingham e.lingham@shu.ac.uk
Southampton, University of Dr CJ Howls c.j.howls@soton.ac.uk
South Wales, University of Dr G Boswell graeme.boswell@southwales.ac.uk
Staffordshire University Prof. BL Burrows b.l.burrows@staffs.ac.uk
St Andrews, University of Dr S Huczynska sh70@st-andrews.ac.uk
Stirling, University of Dr R Norman rachel.norman@stir.ac.uk
Strathclyde University Dr M Grinfeld m.grinfeld@strath.ac.uk
Surrey, University of Dr J McOrist j.mcorist@surrey.ac.uk
Sussex, University of Dr M Chlebik m.chlebik@sussex.ac.uk
Swansea University Prof. T Brzeziński t.brzezinski@swansea.ac.uk
Ulster, University of Dr M McCartney m.mccartney@ulster.ac.uk
University College Dublin Dr M Carey michelle.carey@ucd.ie
University College London Prof. T Johnson erj@math.ucl.ac.uk
Warwick, University of Prof. T Hudson t.hudson.1@warwick.ac.uk
West of England, University of Dr E Walsh Emily3.Walsh@uwe.ac.uk
York, University of Dr N MacKay [Chair, 2019-] niall.mackay@york.ac.uk
York, University of Dr G Constable george.constable@york.ac.uk

Correspondents in other academic institutions

Listed Alphabetically by Institution:

Institution Correspondent Name Contact Email
Amazon Mr C Saunders craigsau@amazon.co.uk
British Geological Survey Dr B Marchant benmarch@bgs.ac.uk
EPSRC Dr M Lodge matthew.lodge@epsrc.ac.uk
ESRC Dr S Werts sarah.werts@esrc.ac.uk
ICMS  Prof. P Glendinning paul.glendinning@manchester.ac.uk
Institute of Mathematics and Applications Mr D Youdan david.youdan@ima.org.uk
Institute of Physics Dr G Lechner lechnerg@cardiff.ac.uk
John Innes Centre Dr S Maree stan.maree@jic.ac.uk
London Mathematical Society Prof. S Huggett stephen_huggett@mac.com
Mathematical Association Mr P Ransom ransompeter687@gmail.com
Microsoft Research Group Dr R Tomioka ryoto@microsoft.com
Operational Research Society Mr R Hibbs
Ms C McLaughlin
richard.hibbs@extra-ibs.com
carol.mclaughlin@theorsociety.com
Royal Society of Edinburgh Ms M Chisholm mchisholm@therse.org.uk
Royal Statistical Society Prof. S Olhede s.olhede@ucl.ac.uk
Science and Technology Facilities Council Ms S Verth sarah.verth@stfc.ac.uk
Schlumberger Cambridge Research Dr P Canizares pcanizares@slb.com

 

Supported By