The Campaign Board assists the Director in raising funds to support the Institute’s research activities and in engaging with firms, foundations and individuals who are interested in cutting-edge mathematical sciences research. Its members are leading mathematical scientists and business people with a deep and abiding interest in the aims of the Institute.

The current members of the Campaign Board are:

Mr Graham Keniston-Cooper, Chair

Graham Keniston-Cooper is a private investor and a non-executive director of a number of companies. He has had a long and distinguished career in private equity, including significant investment, CEO and board experience including General Partner at Cinven, CEO of Lazard Private Equity Partners and Head of Morgan Stanley Private Equity in Europe. Prior to his career in private equity Graham worked as head of business development at Kingfisher and senior consultant at The Boston Consulting Group.

Professor Ulrike Tillmann FRS

Ulrike Tillmann has been the Director of the Isaac Newton Institute since October 2021. Her home institution is Oxford University where she is, amongst other roles, the co-director of the Centre for Topological Data Analysis and a fellow of Merton College.

She was awarded the Whitehead Prize by the London Mathematical Society in 2004 and the Bessel Preis by the Humboldt Society in 2008. Elected a fellow of the Royal Society in 2008, she was an inaugural fellow of the American Mathematical Society in 2012, and became a member of the Leopoldina in 2017. She has also been a fellow of The Alan Turing Institute since its establishment in 2015, and serves on scientific boards of several international institutions, including the Fields Institute and the Austrian Science Foundation. At the end of 2020 she finished her term as a member of Council of the Royal Society where she also served as interim Vice President in 2018. Ulrike has worked broadly in topology, K-theory, and non-commutative geometry. Her work on the moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces and manifolds of higher dimensions has been inspired by problems in quantum physics and string theory. Her most recent work has been inspired by new and developing challenges in data science.

Professor Peter Goddard CBE FRS

Peter Goddard is Professor in the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton. Before this he served as Director at the Institute for Advanced Study, Master of St. John’s College and Professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge, UK, where he played a leading role in establishing the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences and the University of Cambridge Centre for Mathematical Sciences.

Professor Keith Moffatt FRS

Keith Moffatt is Emeritus Professor of Mathematical Physics and Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge.  His speciality is Fluid Dynamics; he was elected FRS in 1986 for his early achievements in this field. He served as Editor of the Journal of Fluid Mechanics (1966-1983), as Director of the Isaac Newton Institute (1996-2001), as Blaise Pascal Professor at the Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris (2002-2003), and as President of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (2000-2004). He is a Foreign Member of the National Scientific Academies of France, Italy, the Netherlands, and USA (National Academy of Sciences), and holds honorary doctorates from Grenoble, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Eindhoven.

Dr Ewan Kirk

Active in philanthropy since 2007, Ewan and his wife, Dr. Patricia Turner, founded the Turner-Kirk Charitable Trust, which supports STEM, research and conservation causes. It is one of the largest private funders of fundamental mathematics research in the UK. In 2015, through Cantab Capital Partners, the couple provided a £5m gift to the University of Cambridge to establish the Cantab Capital Institute for the Mathematics of Information. In 2019 a further gift of £250,000 made possible the establishment of the Kirk Distinguished Visiting Fellowship. This initiative has been designed to support underrepresented groups within mathematics, with the recipients in its inaugural year all being women scientists of the highest calibre. He is also a key member of INI’s Development Board, the goal of which is to raise funds to support the Institute’s research activities. A technology entrepreneur, he founded science-driven investment management firm Cantab Capital Partners in 2006. Resembling a research organisation, Cantab uses data science to test and implement systematic investment strategies. It was acquired by GAM in 2016, where he currently serves as CIO of GAM Systematic Cantab. Prior to Cantab, Ewan led teams at Goldman Sachs and Generics Group, responsible for leveraging science and mathematics to drive innovation in quantitative finance and business. He is also a seed investor in technology startups in London and Cambridge. He holds a PhD in Mathematics (General Relativity) from the University of Southampton, a Certificate in Advanced Study in Applied Mathematics from the University of Cambridge and has achieved a First Class degree in Natural Philosophy and Astronomy at the University of Glasgow. He is current Chair of the INI Management Committee.

Peter Landrock

Peter Landrock was born in Denmark and spent 1972-73 at the University of Warwick on a research grant from the Royal Society. He obtained his Ph.D. in mathematics at University of Chicago in 1974. He joined the Mathematics & Computer Sciences Institute at Aarhus in 1975 and was a visiting fellow at University College, Oxford in 1981 and Research Fellow at the IAS in Princeton 1982-83.

In 1985 he moved into cryptography and built a research group at Aarhus, today one of the largest in Europe. He served as President of the International Association of Cryptologic Research (IACR) in 1992-95. He first came to Cambridge in 1996 as one of the organisers of a major programme in cryptography and data security at the INI (see “Computer security, cryptology and coding theory“) and has lived permanently in Cambridge since 2000. In 1986 he founded Cryptomathic which supplies advanced security solutions to major banks and governments all over the world and has divisions in Aarhus, Cambridge, London, Munich and San Jose, California. Its expertise includes applications of Quantum Mechanics. He left Aarhus in 1997, where he was then awarded an Honorary Professorship.

He was a member of the Technical Advisory Board of the Microsoft Research Lab in Cambridge 1997-2010 and has served as Chair of the Newton Gateway to Mathematics since 2014. He was recently elected Chair of the Director’s Advisory Board at the Niels Bohr International Academy, University of Copenhagen. He holds numerous patents in security and received a D.Sc. (hon) from University of Bristol 2019.

Simon Yun-Farmbrough
Simon Yun-Farmbrough is Chair of Governors of the Univeristy of Bedfordshire, Chair of Shawpoint Ltd, a member of the Investment Committee of the Royal Society, and a Trustee of various charities. He began his career at the Boston Consulting Group where he was a partner, advising financial services companies on strategy. He then became Director of Strategy and Director of e-Business for Prudential Plc, Britain’s largest insurance group. Subsequently, he co-founded and was Vice Chairman of Fenchurch Advisory Partners, one of the City’s leading corporate finance advisory firms.

Supported By