

INI/ICMS Correspondents Day Report 22nd January, 2020



This third joint INI/ICMS Correspondents Day was held at INI on Wednesday 22 January 2020.

Following introductory welcomes from Chair of Correspondents Niall MacKay (York) and INI and ICMS Directors, David Abrahams and Niall Mackay, the first session was about the community's engagement with these institutes. Correspondents provided excellent feedback on the content of the slides to use during presentations about INI/ICMS to their departments, for instance requesting the inclusion of a typical timeline from proposal submission to the running of a programme. The Panel Session within Session 2 on the organisers perspective of running an event at INI/ICMS further expanded on this theme and generated much engagement from the audience. The panel included current organisers Colva Roney-Dougal (St Andrews) and Rob de Jeu (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), former organisers John Greenlees (Warwick) and Niall MacKay (York) as well as Jane Walker, Centre Manager of ICMS. A highlight of the day for many was an excellent talk on "Algebraic geometry and some applications" by Fields Medallist Caucher Birkar (Cambridge).

The full timetable was as follows:

12:00 - 13:00	Lunch
13:00 - 13:30	Welcome from INI Director David Abrahams, ICMS Scientific Director Paul Glendinning and INI-ICMS Chair of Correspondents Niall MacKay
13:30 - 14:15	Session 1: Engagement with INI and ICMS
14:15 – 14:45	Coffee break
14:45 – 15:45	Invited talk: Caucher Birkar: " Algebraic geometry and some applications"
15:45 – 16:45	Session 2: Running an event at INI/ICMS - an Organisers' perspective
16:45 - 17:00	Closing comments
17:00 - 18:00	Drinks reception

The 45 attendees came from Institutions spanning the UK with a couple of Correspondents extending the duration of their stay in order to collaborate with participants on the KAH and GRA programmes. A full list of participants and their home institutions is appended.

List of attendees

David Abrahams Director, Isaac Newton Institute Hamid Alemi Ardakani University of Exeter Ines Aniceto University of Southampton Jess Atkinson Science and Technology Facilities Council Silvia Barbina **Open University** Dave Benson University of Aberdeen Wolfram Bentz University of Hull Caucher Birkar University of Cambridge Horatio Boedihardjo University of Reading Tomasz Brzezinski University of Swansea Andrew Burbanks University of Portsmouth Priscilla Canizares Schlumberger Colin Christopher University of Plymouth Peter Clarkson University of Kent George Constable University of York Konstantinos Dareiotis University of Leeds Rob de Jeu Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam Chris Dent University of Edinburgh Fred Diamond King's College London **Daniel Elton** University of Lancaster Paul Glendinning Scientific Director, ICMS Victor Goryunov University of Liverpool Susan Gowans Administrator, Isaac Newton Institute John Greenlees University of Warwick Michael Grinfeld University of Strathclyde **Richard Hibbs** The OR Society Ostap Hryniv **Durham University** Antal Jarai University of Bath Jane Lawrie **Brunel University** Xue-Mei Li Imperial College London Niall MacKay University of York Shahn Majid Queen Mary University of London **Christie Marr** Deputy Director, Isaac Newton Institute **Kevin Mcgerty** University of Oxford Carol McLaughlin The OR Society Vanessa Miemietz University of East Anglia Frank Neumann University of Leicester Denjoe O'Connor **Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies Chris Parker** University of Birmingham Ulrich Pennig University of Cardiff Artie Prendergast-Smith Loughborough University Colva Roney-Dougal University of St Andrews Hendrik Suess University of Manchester Jane Walker Centre Manager, ICMS **Charles Young** University of Hertfordshire